Posted by: africanpressorganization | 17 November 2014

The African Union welcomes the steps taken towards a civilian-led transition in Burkina Faso


The African Union welcomes the steps taken towards a civilian-led transition in Burkina Faso


ADDIS ABABA, Ethiopia, November 17, 2014/African Press Organization (APO)/ — The Chairperson of the Commission of the African Union (AU), Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, welcomes the significant progress made in Burkina Faso towards the establishment of a civilian-led transition, in conformity with the aspirations of the people of Burkina Faso for change and the consolidation of democracy.

In this regard, the Chairperson of the Commission welcomes the restoration of the Constitution and the signing, yesterday, 16 November 2014 in Ouagadougou, by all Burkinabe stakeholders, of the Transitional Constitutional Charter, in the presence of the AU Special Envoy for Burkina Faso, Mr. Edem Kodjo. She also notes with satisfaction the appointment of a civilian, Michel Kafando, as President of the Transition. She notes that these measures are in line with the communiqué of the 465th meeting of the Peace and Security Council (PSC), held on 3 November 2014. The Chairperson of the Commission expresses her deep appreciation to all the stakeholders and the Burkinabe people for their political maturity and sense of responsibility, which made it possible to take these crucial steps. She encourages them to persevere in their efforts to ensure a civilian-led transition, in accordance with the aspirations of the people of Burkina Faso and the PSC communiqué.

The Chairperson of the Commission also expresses her appreciation to the AU current Chairman, President Mohamed Ould Abel Aziz of Mauritania, as well as to Presidents Macky Sall of Senegal, Chair of the Contact Group on Burkina Faso of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), John Dramani Mahama of Ghana, current Chairman of ECOWAS, Goodluck Jonathan of Nigeria, and Faure Gnassingbe of Togo, for their important role in supporting the Burkinabe people and stakeholders. She also welcomes the contribution of the joint AU/ECOWAS/United Nations (UN) missions, comprising the AU Special Envoy, the President of the ECOWAS Commission, Kadre Desire Ouedraogo, and the UN Special Representative for West Africa, Mohamed Ibn Chambas.

The Chairperson of the Commission reiterates the AU’s commitment, in close cooperation with ECOWAS and the UN, to continue to support the efforts of the Burkinabe stakeholders for the completion of the Transition within the agreed timeframe. She calls on the larger international community to support these efforts and to mobilize the necessary support in favor of Burkina Faso.



African Union Commission (AUC)


%d bloggers like this: