Posted by: APO | 9 April 2008

African Economic Outlook 2008 / European launch 13 May

Paris, 9 April 2008


African Economic Outlook 2008

** European launch 13 May **

The standard reference on Africa, the annual African Economic Outlook (AEO 2008), will be launched on 13 May at the Centre d’acceuil de la presse étrangère (CAPE) in Paris.


AEO 2008 marks the seventh edition of the report, jointly published by the OECD Development Centre, the African Development Bank and the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa.


This year’s publication provides comprehensive analysis of economic, social and political development in 35 African countries which collectively account for 87% of the continents population and 95% of its economic output. The AEO 2008 includes an in-depth focus on technical skills development as a critical factor for economic growth and stability.


The countries covered by the 2008 report include:


•    North Africa: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco and Tunisia.

•    West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Ghana, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria and Senegal.

•    Central Africa: Cameroon, Chad, the Republic of Congo, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon and Rwanda.

•    East Africa: Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Tanzania and Uganda.

•    Southern Africa: Angola, Botswana, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zambia.


The African Economic Outlook is the only report published on Africa that applies a common analytical framework to each country, every year.


Journalists are encouraged to attend the launch, where copies of the latest edition will be available.


%d bloggers like this: