Posted by: APO | 31 October 2007

Jury of Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize to meet on 6 November

Jury of Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize to meet on 6 November

The International Jury of the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize will meet on 6 November at UNESCO Headquarters (Room 16, Miollis) to designate the laureates of the Prize. The President of the Jury, Henry Kissinger, will announce the decision on the same day at noon.

The Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize, which includes a cheque for €122,000, a diploma and a gold medal, pays tribute “to people, institutions or organizations that have contributed significantly to the promotion, research, preservation or maintenance of peace, mindful of the UN Charter and UNESCO’s Constitution.”

The International Jury, chaired by former US Secretary of State and Nobel Peace Prize laureate Henry Kissinger, comprises distinguished personalities including Mario Soares, former President of the Republic of Portugal; Adolfo Pérez Esquivel, Nobel Peace Prize (Argentina); Vigdis Finnbogadottir, former President of Iceland; and Jean Foyer, Minister of Justice under former French President Charles de Gaulle.

At its last meeting, the Jury awarded the Prize to Abdoulaye Wade, President of the Republic of Senegal. Other past winners include Nelson Mandela and Frederik W. De Klerk, Yitzhak Rabin, Shimon Peres and Yasser Arafat, and Jimmy Carter, all of whom received the Nobel Peace Prize after having been awarded the UNESCO Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize.


%d bloggers like this: