Posted by: africanpressorganization | 3 July 2013

Statement by EU High Representative Catherine Ashton on the situation in Egypt


 

 

Statement by EU High Representative Catherine Ashton on the situation in Egypt

 

BRUSSELS, Kingdom of Belgium, July 3, 2013/African Press Organization (APO)/ Catherine Ashton, High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, made today the following statement:

“I am following the situation in Egypt very closely and with deep concern. I welcome the peaceful manner in which most demonstrations have been conducted thus far, but I find continuing cases of sexual abuse of female protesters deeply troubling. I urge all sides to show restraint and reiterate my call to respect the principle of peaceful protest and non-violence.

Confrontation cannot be a solution. The only solution to the present impasse can only be political on the basis of a substantial and inclusive dialogue as wished by the Egyptian people, and founded on democratic principles and respect for fundamental rights. I reiterate the EU’s steadfast commitment to stand by the Egyptian people in their endeavour toward democratic transition, and offer the EU’s support to assist all political forces in finding a peaceful solution.

I offer my deepest condolences to the families of those killed in the protests and hope that those injured will recover quickly.”

 

SOURCE 

European Council


Categories

